Home » Things I use for snailmail » Stamps with a postal theme

Stamps with a postal theme

As you might know by now, I love to collect things. Especially when it’s related to mail. When I was sorting out my stamp collection, I noticed that there are a lot of stamps that has something to do with sending mail. Some of those stamps are really nice. So every now and then I’ll show you one of these stamps. First I’ll share with you the Dutch stamps and then I’ll show you stamps from other countries with the same theme.

First I’ll will show you my favorite mail related stamp: the serie of stamps with paintings of Johannes Vermeer. In 1996 there were released three stamps with Vermeer paintings: 70 cent, 80 cent and 1 gulden (100 cent). On the three stamps you can see a woman reading or writing a letter. Two of my favorite things in one stamp: mail and art! These stamps were released because the Mauritshuis Museum had these three paintings on display.

On the 70 cent stamp you see the painting The letterwriter and her maid

On the 80 cent stamp you see the painting The love letter

On the 1 gulden stamp you see the painting Woman in blue reading a letter

Vermeer stamps

2 thoughts on “Stamps with a postal theme

Leave a Reply

